How to direct your concerns to the DOE and our Officials

Dear fellow PS87 parents,

Our PS 87 administration is working hard to navigate these complex times. Unfortunately, much remains beyond their control, as most policy and budget decisions are made (and changed, often with little notice) by our elected officials and Chancellor Carranza. One example is the DOE’s announcement this week of only one hybrid learning opt-in period for the remainder of the school year as earlier communications (also from the DOE) indicated there would be multiple opportunities to opt back in.

This email is to give you information about how to effectively direct your concerns and ideas so that they may be heard by our elected officials and the DOE. We want you to feel empowered and able to take action, if desired, not just on the current topic of “Opt-in” but any other topic as the school year unfolds.

  1. Sign a Petition

For those of you who wish to sign it, here is a link to an online petition demanding the DOE reverse its decision forcing parents to choose now between in-person and remote school for the rest of the year:

https://sign.moveon.org/petitions/give-parents?bucket&fbclid=IwAR1Qom6seJfLZsxqsWbySJhfMdkD0uXBfWS4-B79tYwgIpsj9MMcDIrS9is

  1. Attend the Monthly CEC Meeting and Sign up to Speak

Parents are welcome to attend the monthly CEC (Community Education Council) meeting. This body helps shape educational policy for elementary and middle schools in our district, District 3. There are 32 CECs throughout NYC. Each one has 12 members, including nine parents selected by the district’s PA/PTAs, two members appointed by the Borough President, and one student selected by the Community Superintendent.

NOTE: As mentioned in today’s email from our new parent coordinator Jennifer Stark, on Monday Nov. 2 at 6:30 p.m., CEC3 is holding an emergency meeting regarding opposition to the DOE Opt-In Plan. If you wish to attend, please register in advance:

https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUvceuvrz4jGNya1Tw7htJERDbz376IKlya

  1. Write an email and send to all our officials:

If you write an email, for maximum impact, please copy all of our elected and DOE officials, provided here in a convenient “copy and paste” format (See bottom of email for the full names, positions and email addresses): nycchancellor@schools.nyc.gov, MRosales7@schools.nyc.gov, CLoughl@schools.nyc.gov, gbrewer@manhattanbp.nyc.gov, action@comptroller.nyc.gov, gov.cuomo@chamber.state.ny.us, bdeblasio@cityhall.nyc.gov, jackson@nysenate.gov, serrano@nysenate.gov, odonned@assembly.state.ny.us, RosentL@nyassembly.gov, Helen@HelenRosenthal.com, Mlevine@council.nyc.gov, mtreyger@council.nyc.gov, kwatkins@cec3.org, cec3@schools.nyc.gov, PCalandrella@schools.nyc.gov; GChacon@schools.nyc.gov; AChapman7@schools.nyc.gov; ICarmignani@schools.nyc.gov; NGreenGiles@schools.nyc.gov; MKraft2@schools.nyc.gov; kparkprice@schools.nyc.gov; SWaite3@schools.nyc.gov; DDillingham@schools.nyc.gov;GLinnen@schools.nyc.gov; LPodvesker@schools.nyc.gov; VLeung@schools.nyc.gov; TSheppard5@schools.nyc.gov

If you have any questions about engagement in community affairs, please reach out to us, Jill Rackmill and Erica DePiero, your PA Community Affairs volunteers at pa-communityaffairs@ps87.info.

Kind regards,

Jill & Erica


Names, Titles and Email Addresses of Officials:

Schools Chancellor Richard Carranza: nycchancellor@schools.nyc.gov,

Marisol Rosales, Manhattan Executive Superintendent: MRosales7@schools.nyc.gov

Christine Laughlin, District 3 superintendent: CLoughl@schools.nyc.gov

Gale Brewer (Manhattan Borough President): gbrewer@manhattanbp.nyc.gov

Comptroller Scott Stringer (running for Mayor of NYC): action@comptroller.nyc.gov

Governor Andrew Cuomo: gov.cuomo@chamber.state.ny.us

Mayor Bill De Blasio: bdeblasio@cityhall.nyc.gov

NY State Senator Robert Jackson: jackson@nysenate.gov

NY State Senator Jose Serrano: serrano@nysenate.gov

NY State Assemblymember Danny O’Donnell: odonned@assembly.state.ny.us

NY State Assemblymember Linda Rosenthal: RosentL@nyassembly.gov

NY City Councilmember Helen Rosenthal: Helen@HelenRosenthal.com

NY City Councilmember Mark Levine: Mlevine@council.nyc.gov

NY City Council Education Chair Mark Treyger: mtreyger@council.nyc.gov

Community Board 7 Chair Mark Diller: mdiller@nyc.rr.com

CEC 3

https://www.cec3.org/

CEC3 President Kim Watkins: kwatkins@cec3.org

CEC3 general inbox: cec3@schools.nyc.gov

Panel for Educational Policy (PEP)

https://www.schools.nyc.gov/about-us/leadership/panel-for-education-policy

The Panel for Educational Policy, or PEP, allows for parent involvement on a citywide level. Responsible for some of the most significant decisions affecting the education system, the panel votes on the Chancellor’s proposed education policies, including school co-locations and closings, DOE contracts over $1 million, Gifted and Talented programs, and the citywide school budget. The PEP also advises the Chancellor on general matters affecting the city’s school districts and its students.

The PEP includes 13 appointed voting members. Seven of these members must be parents of NYC public school children — one appointed by each of the five borough presidents, and two by the mayor. The remaining six members are appointed by the mayor and must be NYC residents, but not necessarily public school parents. The panel also includes two nonvoting student advisory members selected by the Chancellor’s High School Advisory Council. The Chancellor serves as a nonvoting member as well.

PEP members

Peter Calandrella PCalandrella@schools.nyc.gov

Geneal Chacon GChacon@schools.nyc.gov

April Chapman: AChapman7@schools.nyc.gov

Isaac Carmignani: ICarmignani@schools.nyc.gov

Natalie Green Giles: NGreenGiles@schools.nyc.gov

Michael Kraft: MKraft2@schools.nyc.gov

Kathy Park Price: kparkprice@schools.nyc.gov

Shannon Waite: SWaite3@schools.nyc.gov

Deborah Dillingham: DDillingham@schools.nyc.gov

Gary Linnen: GLinnen@schools.nyc.gov

Lori Podvesker: LPodvesker@schools.nyc.gov

Vanessa Leung: VLeung@schools.nyc.gov

Thomas Sheppard: TSheppard5@schools.nyc.gov

Posted in