How to direct your concerns to the DOE and our Officials

As parents, we can and do have a critical role to play in advocating for the education of our children. Since many of the decisions that affect our school are made by our city-wide school Chancellor, Department of Education and Elected Officials, here are two effective ways to make your voice be heard:

mail icon

Write an email and send to all our officials

Simply send our officials an email with a brief summary of your position, on any education-related topic. Be sure to identify yourself as a NYC public school parent and constituent of District 3. For maximum impact, please copy all of our elected and DOE officials, provided below in a convenient “copy and paste” format.

**See bottom of page for the full names, positions and email addresses

You can copy and paste these emails:

nycchancellor@schools.nyc.gov; MRosales7@schools.nyc.gov; CLoughl@schools.nyc.gov; gbrewer@manhattanbp.nyc.gov; action@comptroller.nyc.gov; gov.cuomo@chamber.state.ny.us; bdeblasio@cityhall.nyc.gov; jackson@nysenate.gov; serrano@nysenate.gov; odonned@assembly.state.ny.us; RosentL@nyassembly.gov; Helen@HelenRosenthal.com; Mlevine@council.nyc.gov; mtreyger@council.nyc.gov; kwatkins@cec3.org; cec3@schools.nyc.gov; PCalandrella@schools.nyc.gov; GChacon@schools.nyc.gov; AChapman7@schools.nyc.gov; ICarmignani@schools.nyc.gov; NGreenGiles@schools.nyc.gov; MKraft2@schools.nyc.gov; kparkprice@schools.nyc.gov; SWaite3@schools.nyc.gov; DDillingham@schools.nyc.gov; GLinnen@schools.nyc.gov; LPodvesker@schools.nyc.gov; VLeung@schools.nyc.gov; TSheppard5@schools.nyc.gov

meet

Register to attend the Monthly CEC Meeting

Parents are welcome to attend the monthly CEC (Community Education Council) meeting. This body helps shape educational policy for elementary and middle schools in our district, District 3. There are 32 CECs throughout NYC. Each one has 12 members, including nine parents selected by the district’s PA/PTAs, two members appointed by the Borough President, and one student selected by the Community Superintendent.

Click here for the calendar to upcoming meetings, which you must register, in advance, to attend.

PS 87 COVID-19 Report Card

See the updated COVID-19 Report Card for PS 87 on the ny.gov website. COVID-19 positive data includes students, teachers and staff enrolled in the school district on-site and off-site.

Suggestions

If you have any suggestions, ideas or questions about community affairs / parent advocacy, please reach out to us, Jill Rackmill and Erica DePiero, your PA Community Affairs volunteers at pa-communityaffairs@ps87.info

**Names, Titles and Email Addresses of Officials:

Schools Chancellor Richard Carranza: nycchancellor@schools.nyc.gov,
Marisol Rosales, Manhattan Executive Superintendent: MRosales7@schools.nyc.gov
Christine Laughlin, District 3 superintendent: CLoughl@schools.nyc.gov
Gale Brewer (Manhattan Borough President): gbrewer@manhattanbp.nyc.gov
Comptroller Scott Stringer (running for Mayor of NYC): action@comptroller.nyc.gov
Governor Andrew Cuomo: gov.cuomo@chamber.state.ny.us
Mayor Bill De Blasio: bdeblasio@cityhall.nyc.gov
NY State Senator Robert Jackson: jackson@nysenate.gov
NY State Senator Jose Serrano: serrano@nysenate.gov
NY State Assemblymember Danny O’Donnell: odonned@assembly.state.ny.us
NY State Assemblymember Linda Rosenthal: RosentL@nyassembly.gov
NY City Councilmember Helen Rosenthal: Helen@HelenRosenthal.com
NY City Councilmember Mark Levine: Mlevine@council.nyc.gov
NY City Council Education Chair Mark Treyger: mtreyger@council.nyc.gov
Community Board 7 Chair Mark Diller: mdiller@nyc.rr.com

CEC 3

https://www.cec3.org/
CEC3 President Kim Watkins: kwatkins@cec3.org
CEC3 general inbox: cec3@schools.nyc.gov
Panel for Educational Policy (PEP)
https://www.schools.nyc.gov/about-us/leadership/panel-for-education-policy

The Panel for Educational Policy, or PEP, allows for parent involvement on a citywide level. Responsible for some of the most significant decisions affecting the education system, the panel votes on the Chancellor’s proposed education policies, including school co-locations and closings, DOE contracts over $1 million, Gifted and Talented programs, and the citywide school budget. The PEP also advises the Chancellor on general matters affecting the city’s school districts and its students.

The PEP includes 13 appointed voting members. Seven of these members must be parents of NYC public school children — one appointed by each of the five borough presidents, and two by the mayor. The remaining six members are appointed by the mayor and must be NYC residents, but not necessarily public school parents. The panel also includes two nonvoting student advisory members selected by the Chancellor’s High School Advisory Council. The Chancellor serves as a nonvoting member as well.

PEP members

Peter Calandrella PCalandrella@schools.nyc.gov
Geneal Chacon GChacon@schools.nyc.gov
April Chapman: AChapman7@schools.nyc.gov
Isaac Carmignani: ICarmignani@schools.nyc.gov
Natalie Green Giles: NGreenGiles@schools.nyc.gov
Michael Kraft: MKraft2@schools.nyc.gov
Kathy Park Price: kparkprice@schools.nyc.gov
Shannon Waite: SWaite3@schools.nyc.gov
Deborah Dillingham: DDillingham@schools.nyc.gov
Gary Linnen: GLinnen@schools.nyc.gov
Lori Podvesker: LPodvesker@schools.nyc.gov
Vanessa Leung: VLeung@schools.nyc.gov
Thomas Sheppard: TSheppard5@schools.nyc.gov